Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Article Image Alt Text

Accepting the award on behalf of the Wimberley Players were board members Teresa Kendrick and Ryla Wolf. Photo courtesy of the Wimberley Players

Wimberley Players win award

The Austin Critics Table presented the Wimberley Players with a new award catagory this year, the Periphery Company Award for excellence in theater outside Austin proper.

Citing, among other things, excellent and consistent production values, the award was presented by Central Texas Live Theatre's Michael Meigs on June 4, at the awards ceremony in Austin.

The Critics Table, is an informal association of area arts writers and editors. They have been presenting awards for more than a quarter of a century, recognizing the work of individual artists and performers and their specific works. However, this year, two new categories in the area of theater were added, one of which was Periphery Company.

Taking part in the Critics Table award process this year for theater were the Austin American-Statesman's Andrew J. Friedenthal and Claire Canavan; the Chronicle's Elizabeth Cobbe, T. Lynn Mikeska and Shanon Weaver; Central Texas Live Theatre's Michael Meigs and Dr. David Glen Robinson; Broadway World Austin's Lynn Beaver, Frank Benge, and Lacey Cannon; and Austin Entertainment Weekly's Olin Meadows.

San Marcos Record

(512) 392-2458
P.O. Box 1109, San Marcos, TX 78666