Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
As a public service, public health stories are free to Central Texans during the coronavirus crisis. Please support our local journalists by subscribing today. Call 512-392-2458.
Article Image Alt Text

County makes commission selections

Court makes appointments to Hays County's election advisory commission
Wednesday, November 20, 2019

Members of the Hays County Commissioners Court selected their appointments to the Hays County Citizens Election Advisory Commission on Tuesday morning.

The Hays County Commissioners Court motioned in September to create an advisory commission which will exist “to serve Hays County as an independent advisory commission in the area of effectively identifying voting center locations and assessing the locations after each election period.” 

The two goals of the commission are to evaluate the distribution and effectiveness of the early voting polls and vote centers and recommend changes as needed. 

Commissioners voted on Oct. 29 to appoint two individuals, Sandra Tenorio and Sam Tobar, to serve on the advisory commission. Tenorio will serve as a representative of the rural community and Tobar will represent the disabled community. 

The commission will include the following representatives: one representative from each independent school district, including Hays CISD, San Marcos CISD, Dripping Springs ISD and Wimberley ISD; one representative from each municipality, including San Marcos, Kyle, Buda, Dripping Springs, Wimberley, Mountain City, Uhland, the City of Hays, Niederwald and Woodcreek; one representative from each County Party Chair, including the Democratic Party and the Republican Party; Texas State University Student Party Chairs, including the Democratic Party and the Republican Party; one rural community representative; one representative of the disabled community; one representative from the League of Women Voters; and two appointed citizen representatives per commissioner. The Elections Office will act as technical advisory to the commission.

During their meeting on Tuesday morning, Pct. 1 Commissioner Debbie Ingalsbe appointed Roland Saucedo and Diane Hervol, Pct. 2 Commissioner appointed Debbie Russ and Pat Chisholm, Pct. 3 Commissioner appointed Carol Gaultney and Jon Leonard, Pct. 4 Commissioner Walt Smith appointed David Edwards and Kent Willis and Hays County Judge Ruben Becerra previously appointed Arthur Taylor and Linda Tenorio to the commission.

Some municipalities still must select their representatives for the board. According to Hays County Chief of Staff Alex Villalobos, the advisory board meeting date has been pushed back to Nov. 21 so that all municipalities will have time to select a representative. 

San Marcos Record

(512) 392-2458
P.O. Box 1109, San Marcos, TX 78666