Hughson, Mihalkanin easily re-elected

City Council incumbents Ed Mihalkanin and Jane Hughson will retain their seats on the council.

City Election

The voters have spoken, and San Marcos City Council incumbents Ed Mihalkanin and Jane Hughson will retain their seats on the council.

With 14 out of 19 precincts counted at press time, Mihalkanin had 1,089 votes — 63.35 percent — while challenger Amy Stanfield had 630 votes, or 36.65 percent. Hughson had 1,345 votes, or 79.73 percent, to challenger Joshua Simpson’s 342 votes, or 20.27 percent.

“I am very happy,” Mihalkanin said, noting that he was particularly pleased with the early voting numbers. “The early voting margin was really helpful, because it’s difficult to come back from that.”

Mihalkanin said he noted that there were only eight polling places and that at least three of those places had lines of people still waiting to vote at 7 p.m. He said he would make it a priority to make voting more accessible to the residents of the city that is showing its support.

“I’m very grateful for all the support the community is giving me,” he said.

Hughson also expressed gratitude for the support she received in the election.

“Thanks to the voters of San Marcos,” she said. “I appreciate your confidence in me. And thanks so much to everyone who worked this election and to everyone who worked for this win.”

Voters also approved all of the proposed amendments to the San Marcos City Charter. The changes range from fixing grammatical errors throughout the document to adding affordable housing and environmental stewardship to the city’s goals. Other amendments would require the votes of five city council members rather than four to remove the city manager and authorize the ethics review commission to conduct hearings on alleged violations of the city charter.

The city council election winners will take their oaths of office at a special council meeting at 6 p.m. on Nov. 15, when the council will officially canvass the election results.

At press time, it appeared that Hays County voters were in favor of all seven proposed amendments to the Texas Constitution, with 28 of 49 precincts reporting. Voting was closest on Proposition 4, which earned “yes” votes from 2,982 Hays County voters and 2,283 “no” votes. That proposition authorizes the legislature to require a court to give the state attorney general notice of a challenge to the constitutionality of a state statute and to to prescribe a waiting period before the court may enter a judgment holding the statute unconstitutional.

San Marcos Daily Record

(512) 392-2458
P.O. Box 1109, San Marcos, TX 78666