Texas State prof receives faculty advisor award

Academic Recognition

Bahram Asiabanpour, associate professor of manufacturing engineering at Texas State University, has received the 2017 Distinguished Faculty Advisor Award from the Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME).

The award is given to professors who serve as advisors to SME student chapters. Asiabanpour was among four recipients for 2017.

As SME advisor, Asiabanpour provides guidance to student chapter leaders to ensure their professional growth, as well as the growth of the chapter. In addition to his role with SME, Asiabanpour is the director of the Rapid Product and Process Development (RPD) Lab. He is the principal investigator or co-principal investigator for 33 external and 18 internal grants, including a $15 million grant from NASA. He is also the editor-in-chief of the Journal of Rapid Manufacturing.

More than 29 educators have received the Distinguished Professor Award since its inception in 2011, and the award has provided more than $38,000 to further professional development and support student chapters.

To be considered for the award, advisors submit a personal statement about their career goals and their objectives for their student chapter. The statements are reviewed by members of SME’s Student Relations Committee and approved by the SME Member Council.

San Marcos Daily Record

(512) 392-2458
P.O. Box 1109, San Marcos, TX 78666