Primaries narrowed field, but runoffs loom

Texas Votes

The Texas primaries might be over, but there will be a handful of runoff races to be decided on May 22 – especially among the state’s Democrats.

Of the four Democratic candidates for U.S. District 21, Mary Street Wilson will face off against Joseph Kopser in a runoff. Wilson got almost 31 percent of the vote, while Kopser received almost 29 percent. The four Democrats running for U.S. District 25 have been narrowed down to Chris Perri, who received 32.7 percent of the vote, and Julie Oliver, who received almost 26.5 percent. In the race to compete against Gov. Greg Abbott in November, former Dallas County Sheriff Lupe Valdez will face off against Andrew White, son of former Gov. Mark White. Statewide, Valdez received almost 43 percent of the vote, while White earned just over 27 percent. In the Democrats’ race for State Rep. District 45, Erin Zwiener and Rebecca Bell-Metereau will compete in the May runoff. Zwiener received 30.6 percent of the vote, and Bell-Metereau received 45.4 percent.

For Republicans, the field of 18 candidates for the District 21 seat in the U.S. House of Representatives was winnowed down to Chip Roy, with 27 percent of the vote statewide, and Matt McCall, with almost 17 percent of the vote. Hill Country favorite Jason Isaac, who stepped down as state representative for District 45 to run for U.S. District 21, received 10 percent of the vote, and former San Marcos Mayor Susan Narvaiz received about 3.8 percent statewide.

Other area races were decided Tuesday night, including the Democratic primary for State Senator District 25, which Steven Kling won by a narrow margin; he received 51 percent of the vote, while his sole opponent, Jack Guerra, received almost 49 percent. Incumbent Bill Henry handily won the Republican primary for District Judge, 428th Judicial District, defeating Benjamin Wetmore with 78.7 percent of the vote. County Commissioner Precinct 3 Lon Shell came out ahead of Colin McFerrin in the Republican primary for his seat, receiving 57 percent of the vote to McFerrin’s 43 percent. In the Republican race for County Commissioner Precinct 4, Walt Smith received 58.5 percent of the vote, defeating Jimmy Skipton.

Voter turnout in Hays County for this primary was about twice what it was in the last midterm primary election, held in 2014. Then, 11,993 voters cast their ballots; in the March 2018 primary, 23,717 votes were cast. More voters were registered for the 2018 primary, too – up from 2014’s 100,244 to 121,446. Turnout this year was higher for both Democrats and Republicans than it was in 2014, but for Democrats it nearly tripled – from 3.16 percent of registered voters to 9.46 percent – while Republican percentages only rose from 8.77 percent to 10.07 percent.

San Marcos Daily Record

(512) 392-2458
P.O. Box 1109, San Marcos, TX 78666