Thanks to all the members of the SMCISD committee

Letter to the Editor


I want to personally thank each member of the SMCISD Facilities Planning Committee for your efforts which led up to the San Marcos CISD school board vote calling for a May 6th bond election. Your commitment to the integrity of the process was evident, and the feedback and insight you provided to the district was invaluable. The committee was diverse in thought and experience and represented many facets of San Marcos, including Texas State University, the City of San Marcos, educators, parents, former board members, business leaders, community leaders, and clergy. I have worked in several school districts across the state and rarely have I seen such a broad range of people so truly focused on addressing the academic needs of all students. 

Committee members are Jodi Adams, Barrie Breed, John P. Crowley, Priscilla Delgado, Rudy Espinoza, Juan G. Marquez, Gloria Suarez, Kim Porterfield, Eduardo Rios, Susan Seaton, Pam White, Frank Arredondo, Rose Brooks, Rita De La Rosa, Laura Dupont, Bea Flores, Marissa McGlothlin, Mike Occhialini, Rebecca Ybarra Ramirez, Jennifer Rogers, Larkin Smith, Sara Torres, Ellen Ault, Dan Brown, Laura Delgado, Becky Espinoza, Victor Garza, Naomi Narvaiz, Mary Padron, Stephanie Reyes, Todd Salmi, Nancy Smith and Michelle Villalpando.

San Marcos CISD is fortunate to have great community support and this process exemplified your dedication to our students. I am thankful for your advocacy on behalf of our children. 


Michael A. Cardona 

Superintendent of Schools 

San Marcos CISD 

San Marcos Daily Record

(512) 392-2458
P.O. Box 1109, San Marcos, TX 78666