Bobcats honored with Sun Belt awards

Photo by Gerald Castillo

Texas State Women's Soccer

Texas State senior forward Kassi Hormuth earned Sun Belt Player of the Year, sophomore forward Kaylee Davis received Newcomer of the Year honors, and head coach Kat Conner was named Coach of the Year, the conference announced Tuesday. 

Hormuth led the Sun Belt with five assists during conference competition and tallied five goals. She was also one of five Bobcats to be named to the All-Sun Belt First Team. Hormuth is the second Texas State player to be named Sun Belt Offensive Player of the Year in the last three seasons. 

Davis is the fifth Texas State player awarded with the Newcomer of the Year award. She is the first Bobcat to earn the award since joining the Sun Belt and first since 2011. Davis amassed seven goals and two assists during conference play. 

Conner helped Texas State to a second place finish in the conference after the Bobcats were selected seventh in the preseason poll. Texas State put together a seven-match winning streak during Sun Belt play, which was tied for the second longest streak in school history. This is the third time Conner has earned the Coach of the Year honor and first since Texas State joined the Sun Belt. She was honored with Southland Coach of the Year in 2008 and 2009. 

Joining Hormuth and Davis on the All-Sun Belt first team are senior midfielder Rachel Grout, senior defender Chandler Cooney and sophomore goalkeeper Heather Martin. 

Grout led the Bobcats with eight goals and was tied for first with six assists. Her six assists tie her for eighth most by a Texas State player in a season. Cooney started all 18 matches this season to extend her consecutive start streak to 52. She helped the Bobcats record six shutouts in 2017. 

Martin started all 10 conference matches for the Bobcats. She helped Texas State tie a program record for consecutive shutouts at five matches and 560:55 minutes. 

Sophomore midfielder Jordan Kondikoff was named to the All-Sun Belt Second Team.

Little Rock junior forward Arola Aparicio Gili joined the five Bobcats on the first team, alongside South Alabama senior forward Rio Hardy, Little Rock sophomore midfielder Doro Greulich, South Alabama senior midfielder Danielle Henley, South Alabama junior defender Hannah Godfrey and South Alabama senior defender Steffi Hardy. 

Also on the second team: South Alabama sophomore forward Kory Dixon, Coastal Carolina senior forward Daniella Famili, Arkansas State freshman forward Sarah Sodoma, South Alabama freshman midfielder Selm Bjorgvinsdottir, South Alabama senior midfielder Chelsea Followwell, Troy sophomore midfielder Julia Winter, Arkansas State junior defender Riley Ebenroth, Troy senior defender Haley Roberson, Little Rock junior defender Liesa Seifert and Arkansas State junior goalkeeper Kelsey Ponder.

South Alabama senior forward Rio Hardy was named Sun Belt Player of the Year. South Alabama junior defender Hannah Godfrey received Defensive Player of the Year. Arkansas State freshman forward earned Freshman of the Year honors. 

Texas State begins its run in the Sun Belt Tournament as the No. 2 seed against Coastal Carolina on Wednesday at 4 p.m. at Foley Sports Tourism Complex in Foley, Alabama. 

San Marcos Daily Record

(512) 392-2458
P.O. Box 1109, San Marcos, TX 78666