Close Finish: Team Desolation Row beats Martindale Athletic Club by minutes

Photo by Ashley Landis

Texas Water Safari 2018

Team Desolation Row (Boat 150) won the 56th annual Texas Water Safari with a time of 36 hours and 48 minutes. 

Desolation Row narrowly defeated Martindale Athletic Club (Boat 123), which finished with a time of 36 hours and 50 minutes. 

Desolation Row Amado Cruz, Andrew Condie, Ian Rolls, Nick Walton, Tommy Yonley and William Russell battled the choppy waters in San Antonio Bay to the finish line at Seadrift. 

Desolation Row, the defending champions, crossed the finish line around 9:45 p.m. on Sunday. 

Martindale Athletic Club   Ben Schlimmer, Clay Wyatt, Fred Mynar, Kyle Mynar, Logan Mynar and Michael Schlimmer finished close behind. 

Eleven boats crossed the finish line as of Monday's press time. The racers have until 1 p.m. on Wednesday to make it to Seadrift. 

San Marcos Daily Record

(512) 392-2458
P.O. Box 1109, San Marcos, TX 78666