Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Voice of Democracy winners

Pictured are Commander Brown, Torres, Hargraves, and Salmon. Submitted photo

Voice of Democracy winners

Sunday, May 2, 2021

Maurice T. Suttles VFW Post 3413 Commander Stephanie Brown named Elizabeth D. Salmon as first place winner of the 2020-2021 Voice of Democracy with the theme “Is This the Country the Founders Envisioned?” Salmon advanced to District level. Second and Third place winner were Emma E. Hargraves and Arianna V. Torres

Established in 1947, the Voice of Democracy audio-essay program provides high school students with the unique opportunity to express themselves regarding a democratic and patriotic-themed recorded essay. Each year, 9-12 grade students from across the country enter to win. The national first place winner receives a $30,000 scholarship paid directly to the recipient’s American university, college, or vocational/ technical school.

The audio-essay theme for next year 2021-22 year is “America: Where Do We Go From Here?”

San Marcos Record

(512) 392-2458
P.O. Box 1109, San Marcos, TX 78666