Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
As a public service, public health stories are free to Central Texans during the coronavirus crisis. Please support our local journalists by subscribing today. Call 512-392-2458.
Article Image Alt Text

Photo by Gerald Castillo

London named to 2019 Bednarik Award Watch List

Texas State Football
Monday, July 15, 2019

The Maxwell Football Club released its 2019 Bednarik Award Watch List on Monday afternoon, featuring Texas State senior linebacker Bryan London II.

The Bednarik Award, named after Chuck Bednarik, a College and Pro Football Hall of Fame linebacker who played for the Penn Quakers and Philadelphia Eagles, is annually presented to the top defensive player in the country. Former Kentucky pass rusher Josh Allen was last year’s recipient.

London was the top tackler in the Sun Belt Conference last season and No. 45 in the NCAA with 9.1 per game. He finished the year with a team-best 109 total tackles and also tied for sixth place in the league with two forced fumbles.

The Converse native was one of 80 student-athletes to be named to the Watch List. The Bednarik Award semifinalists will be selected on Oct. 29, with three finalists to be picked on Nov. 25. The award winner will be revealed at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 12.

The Bobcats also announced Monday that London, along with senior offensive lineman Aaron Brewer and Texas State head coach Jake Spavital, will represent the maroon and gold at the 2019 Sun Belt Football Media Day. The conference will be held in New Orleans from July 21-22.

San Marcos Record

(512) 392-2458
P.O. Box 1109, San Marcos, TX 78666