Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

State seeking nominations for State Poet Laureate, Musician and Artist

Wednesday, August 8, 2018

AUSTIN – On behalf of the Texas State Legislature, the Texas Commission on the Arts (TCA) is seeking nominations for the positions of 2019 and 2020 State Poet Laureate, State Musician, State Artist two-dimensional media (i.e., painting, photography), and State Artist three-dimensional media (i.e., sculpture).

All Texas residents are encouraged to make nominations, and self-nominations are accepted. They can nominate more than one artist. The nomination form and complete information are available online. The deadline for Texas State Artists nominations is Oct. 15, 2018.

All qualified nominees must be native Texans or five-year residents of the state. Candidates must have received recognition for high levels of excellence and success in their respective disciplines. They also must have received critical reviews in state, regional or national publications.

Chosen artists will join the company of previous state artists such as Willie Nelson, Dario Robleto, Dean Young, and Kathy Vargas and receive statewide recognition. Texas State Artists also have the opportunity to participate in TCA events and promotions, including participation on TCA’s Texas Touring Roster and other state initiatives in relation to their respective arts discipline.

“We are fortunate to have many outstanding artists in Texas, and we anticipate receiving numerous qualified nominations,” said Gary Gibbs, executive director of TCA. “Being named a Texas State Artist is the Texas Legislature’s highest honor for an artist, and it brings new career opportunities and recognition from the arts community and the general public.”

TCA oversees the selection process for the four positions, in accordance with Chapter 3104 of the Texas Government Code. TCA issues the call for nominations, oversees an evaluation review process, and provides a list of finalists to the selection committee. The committee, composed of members appointed by the Governor, Lieutenant Governor and Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives, makes the final selections. The 86th Texas Legislature will make the appointments next spring when they are in session.


San Marcos Record

(512) 392-2458
P.O. Box 1109, San Marcos, TX 78666