Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Article Image Alt Text

Fall semester Second Mile Award recipients at San Marcos Academy, along with Academic Dean Bob Wiegand, are (front) Ella Gomez, Major Howard, Edison Fisher, Millah Portis and Ryleigh Sanders, (second row) Alden Epps, Mitchell Howard, Jesilyn Reyes-Darling, Layton Schawe, Illiamna Sommerlate and Nathan Velte, (third row) Abby Funderburk, Grace Barrett, Cherry Vasquez, Emma Feigl, Kendall Opiela, Amber Velte, Faith White, Addy Cianciotto, Cendra Rodriguez, (fourth row) Gordon Murphy, Lily Xu, Victoria Polhemus, Erica Wright and Evelena Luo, (back row) Evan Schawe, Caleb Strube, Daniel Abu Jaber, Aaron Emerich, Catarina Vazquez, Frankie Blair, Isabella Allsup, Jacey Cano and Kayla Livingston. Photo by Don Anders

SM Academy students go ‘Second Mile’

Sunday, February 10, 2019

San Marcos Academy students who have gone the “extra mile” in their classroom effort were recognized Jan. 22 during a chapel assembly.

A total of 34 students received the Second Mile Award for demonstrating outstanding effort during the fall semester. The award is based on teacher recommendations.

Among the recipients were five Lower School students: Edison Fisher, Ella Gomez, Major Howard, Millah Portis and Ryleigh Sanders.

In the Middle School, 11 local students were recognized, including Grace Barrett, Alden Epps, Emma Feigl, Mitchell Howard, Kendall Opiela, Jesilyn Reyes-Darling, Layton Schawe, Illiamna Sommerlate, Cherry Vasquez, Amber Velte and Nathan Velte.

The remaining recipients are in the SMA Upper School and include Daniel Abu Jaber, Isabella Allsup, Frankie Blair, Jacey Cano, Addy Cianciotto, Aaron Emerich, Abby Funderburk, Kayla Livingston, Evalena Luo, Gordon Murphy, Victoria Polhemus, Cendra Rodriguez, Evan Schawe, Caleb Strube, Catarina Vazquez, Faith White, Erica Wright and Lily Xu.

The Second Mile Award was established at the Academy 36 years ago to recognize students who go above and beyond what is generally expected in the effort they put forth in the classroom. The award is presented each semester.

San Marcos Record

(512) 392-2458
P.O. Box 1109, San Marcos, TX 78666