Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
As a public service, public health stories are free to Central Texans during the coronavirus crisis. Please support our local journalists by subscribing today. Call 512-392-2458.
Article Image Alt Text

Photos by Gerald Castillo

San Marcos Football holds awards banquet

San Marcos Football
Monday, December 23, 2019

San Marcos Football held its annual end-of-year banquet on Friday in side the school’s Performing Arts Center to give out the team’s postseason awards.

The Rattlers’ team captains — senior quarterback Alex Garcia, wide receivers Diego Cruz and Takai Madgett, defensive lineman Chris Soliz, linebacker Ryan Wilder and junior safety Kannon Webb — were all honored at the ceremony. Madgett and Webb were also chosen as the Offensive and Defensive Outstanding Players, respectively.

Senior tight end Ronnie Perez received the Striking Rattler Award. Senior linebacker A.J. Gonzales earned the Bruce Bush Character Award. Garcia and senior safety Andres Alonzo were both name A True P.R.O. — an acronym for persistent, resilient over-achiever.

Gonzales, Madgett, Darroll Barton and Aidan Cline were each selected to give a senior legacy speech. Gonzales also received a plaque for making the 2019 THSCA Academic All-State Second Team, with Cline and Wilder also being recognized as All-State Honorable Mentions.

San Marcos Record

(512) 392-2458
P.O. Box 1109, San Marcos, TX 78666