Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Article Image Alt Text

Photo by Gerald Castillo

Chisum receives AVCA Southwest Region Coach of the Year award

Texas State Volleyball
Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Texas State head coach Karen Chisum was named the American Volleyball Coaches Association Southwest Region Coach of the Year on Tuesday

Junior outside hitter/setter Cheyenne Huskey and freshman setter Emily DeWalt were named to the All-Southwest Region team. 

Earlier this year, Chisum was named Sun Belt Coach of the Year, which was her sixth coach of the year honor. Chisum coached the Bobcats to a 15-1 record in conference play and helped lead them to their first Sun Belt tournament championship since 2013. 

Texas State won its first NCAA tournament game on Nov. 29 with a 3-1 victory over Rice. The Bobcats’ season ended after a 3-0 loss to Texas in the second round of the NCAA tournament on Nov. 30. Texas State finished with a 27-7 record. 

DeWalt and Huskey are the fourth and fifth Bobcats to receive ACVA all-region honors. The duo join Stephanie Winn and Darbie Brunning, who were both named to the first team in 1991 and 1986, respectively. Amari Deardorff was named an honorable mention in 2013. 

DeWalt recorded 652 assists during Sun Belt play and finished third in total assists with 1,270. She received 11 conference player of the week awards during her freshman campaign. She became the first Bobcat to be named AVCA National Player of the Week on Oct. 2. 

Huskey recorded 358 kills, 212 digs, 73 blocks, 54 assists and 28 aces in 2018. She was named Sun Belt Offensive Player of the Week on Sept. 17. 

DeWalt and Huskey were both named to the 2018 All-Sun Belt first team. 

Texas’ Micaya White was named AVCA southwest region Player of the Year and TCU’s E’lan McCall was named Freshman of the Year. 

Joining Texas State’s duo on the AVCA Southwest region team are Texas’s Yaasmeen Bedart-Ghani, Brionne Butler, Logan Eggleston and White, Oklahoma’s Alyssa Enneking, Keyton Kinley and Kylee McLaughlin, Rice’s Nicole Lennon and Grace Morgan, Baylor’s Shelly Fanning and Yossiana Pressley and TCU’s McCall.

San Marcos Record

(512) 392-2458
P.O. Box 1109, San Marcos, TX 78666